Close this search box.

Revealed: What Tasmania’s new council areas could look like

Pulse Tasmania
Revealed: What Tasmania's 15 new council areas could look like

A map showing just what Tasmania’s future local government areas could look like, if the existing 29 councils across the state are consolidated into just 15 local councils, has been revealed by the Future of Local Government Review.

In the Hobart area, the proposed adjustments would lead to the creation of a ‘Western Shore’ council, formed by merging the Glenorchy and Hobart LGAs, along with the Taroona area from the Kingborough LGA.


The ‘Southern Shore’ council would amalgamate the Huon Valley and Kingborough LGAs, excluding Taroona, while Clarence would retain its current boundaries.

The Brighton and Southern Midlands LGAs would unite to establish the ‘Central Southern’ council, while the Derwent Valley and Central Highlands LGAs would come together as the ‘Derwent Valley & Highlands’ council.

The ‘East Coast’ council would encompass the Break O’Day LGA, in addition to Bicheno, Freycinet and Coles Bay, while the ‘South East’ council would comprise of Sorell, Tasman and the Glamorgan Spring Bay LGA, excluding Bicheno, Freycinet and Coles Bay.

Revealed: What Tasmania’s 15 new council areas could look like. Image / Supplied

The ‘Central Northern’ council would merge the Meander Valley and Northern Midlands LGAs, except for Prospect and Blackstone Heights.

The ‘Tamar Valley’ council would include the Launceston LGA, excluding rural areas to the north-east but incorporating Prospect and Blackstone Heights from the Meander Valley LGA, alongside the West Tamar LGA and George Town LGA, excluding rural areas to the east.

The ‘North-East’ council would be made up of the Dorset LGA, along with rural areas to the west from the George Town LGA and to the south-west from the Launceston LGA.


In the western part of the state, the ‘Western’ council would keep the current West Coast LGA and extend north to incorporate Waratah and Savage River.

The ‘North-West’ council would bring together the Circular Head LGA and Waratah-Wynyard LGA, excluding Waratah and Savage River, while ‘Cradle Coast’ council would merge the Burnie, Central Coast, Devonport, Kentish and Latrobe LGAs.

Nic Street in Parliament. Image / Pulse

King Island and Flinders would remain unchanged in the restructuring.

Minister for Local Government Nic Street said that there are a number of key recommendations made in the final report that the public can now give feedback on.

“We have been clear that this Review will not result in forced amalgamations of councils, and that has not changed. There will be no change to council boundaries unless both the councils and communities want them,” he said.

He said one of the key recommendations in the report includes exploring voluntary council amalgamation in five areas initially:

  • West Coast, Waratah-Wynyard and Circular Head Councils
  • Kentish and Latrobe Councils
  • Break O’Day, Glamorgan-Spring Bay and Sorell Councils
  • City of Hobart and Glenorchy City Councils
  • Kingborough and Huon Valley Councils

The final report is open for comment until 29 February 2024.

More of The Latest


Sponsored Links


Share this article